How To: Use the Recovery Tool

Before starting, please note this process can only be done by the Config user.

Sections which have been worked on might need to be returned to a previous condition. For example, a section at the Consultant Check stage might need to be 'Restored' to its condition at the end of the Community Test stage.

De-approving a section is accomplished by Restoring an Approved section to the Consultant Approval stage. Then, the consultant can login and open that section in his Consultant Approval role and "Return" it to the translation team (it appears for them in Consultant Revise).

A section might even need to be 'Reset' to its original condition prior to Drafting. Doing a reset will also eliminate any divisions created in the passages of that section.

Project Home with the 3-dot menu open. Label 1 marks the 3-dot menu button and label 2 marks Section Status.

To Recover or Reset a Section, begin by tapping on the 3-dot User Menu (1) and tap on Section Status (2).

The Section Status screen on the Processes tab. Label 3 marks the Recovery tab.

Next, tap on Recovery (3)

The Recovery tab. Labels 4 to 8 mark the Section search box, the Section List, the Section Snapshot List, the Snapshot Selector and the Reset Section button.

  1. Section Search: Type in section number or scroll through the list in (5) to find the section of interest. Notice that in this screenshot, there is a red dot on the word "Recovery." This indicates that one or more of the sections has a conflict that needs to be resolved. See more on this below.
  2. Section List: Tap to highlight the section you want to Recover or Reset.
  3. Section Snapshot List: This shows 'snapshot' points (stage and date) in the history of the section. Render takes a 'snapshot' of a section's condition after each stage is completed in order to facilitate a return to this condition if the need arises.
  4. Snapshot Selector: The light blue dot indicates the most recent snapshot. Select the snapshot you want to return to and a "Restore" button will appear (R – see below).
  5. Reset Button: Tapping the "Reset" button (8) returns the section to its original, pre-Drafted condition, thus losing all work done to this point. Do not select this unless you are willing to lose all previous work on the section. This choice will also prompt you for confirmation and for your Config password.

In the following example, Section 3 was selected from the Section List (5). From the Snapshot List (6) the Snapshot after Draft was selected (this will restore Section 3 to its condition just after Draft (or before starting Peer Check)). To commit to this Restore point, tap the Restore button (R), confirm your choice, and submit your Config password.

The Recovery tab with Section 3 selected and the Draft snapshot chosen. Label R marks the Restore button.

A warning pop-up: Draft will be lost. Restoring the section deletes all data after the selected stage and cannot be undone. Buttons: Cancel and Restore Section.

A pop-up asking for the Config password to restore a section. Buttons: Cancel and Confirm.

 

How to De-Approve a Section

To de-approve a section which has already been Approved, there are two steps:

  1. the Config person must log in to Render and perform this Restore operation for the section that is to be de-approved. Restoring to the most recent snapshot (Approved) will cause the section to appear in the queue for the Global User who is assigned the Consultant Approval role. Make sure to sync after completing this operation.
  2. That person assigned to the Consultant Approval role must log in to Render and enter that role. Then, they must open the section and click/tap "Return" (bottom left button) to send it back to the translation team. It will appear for that team in the Consultant Revise substage.

The translation team must then login and open the section in the Consultant Revise substage in order to make the necessary changes to their translation of that section.

 

Fixing a Section Conflict

In the case of a section that has a snapshot conflict, you will see a red dot on the word "Recovery" at the top of the screen, and a red circle with exclamation point on the section(s) that have a conflict.

In the example below, Section 56 has a conflict. Tapping that section will show the conflict information to the right.

The Recovery tab with Section 56 marked by a red conflict icon. On the right: This Section has a Snapshot Conflict, with two choices, Select a Snapshot and Delete both Snapshots.

You can 'Delete both Snapshots' – which effectively Resets the section – or you can 'Select a Snapshot.' Tapping on Select a Snapshot produces the following screen where you can choose based on the date of the two snapshots:

The Select a Snapshot pop-up asking which Draft snapshot to keep, with one button for each team's snapshot and its date.

You will then be prompted to confirm that choice:

A confirmation pop-up: You have chosen, followed by the section and snapshot. You cannot undo this action. Buttons: No and Yes.

And finally you will be presented again with the information of the snapshot you chose:

A pop-up confirming which snapshot was chosen for the section, with an OK button.

At this point the red dot on "Recovery" and the warning on the Section have been removed.

Once again, be aware that choosing "Delete both Snapshots" effectively Resets the section, losing all work done in that section!

CONTENTS